RTDNAC awards 2017 scholarships

The Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas (RTDNAC) proudly presented two scholarships during its annual workshop for college students on February 11.

Savannah Thompson from UNC-Pembroke and Zuri Anderson from Winthrop University won the 2017 Dr. John Bittner College Scholarship Competition.

Each year, RTDNAC awards two $1,500 scholarships, one each to a student in North and South Carolina. Funding for the RTDNAC Scholarships is provided by Capitol Broadcasting Company/WRAL, Hearst Television/WYFF, and the RTDNAC Board of Directors.
The scholarship is named after the late Dr. John Robert Bittner, a professor at the School of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, who served as the first executive director of RTDNAC.

Sign up for RTDNAC's mailing list to keep up with the latest on our annual awards program, convention, student scholarship and student workshop.

2017 winners

Savannah Thompson
Savannah Thompson

Savannah Thompson

Savannah Thompson is currently a junior at UNC-Pembroke pursuing a B.S. in Mass Communications with a major in Broadcasting. Academically, Savannah has earned a place on the Chancellor’s List. In her role as a student athlete and captain of the women’s golf team, she has been achieved a spot on the Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll and All- Academic Team. Savannah’s practical experience is as a member of the staff at UNC-Pembroke’s WNCP-TV, where she has served as a reporter and currently serves as the producer for “Carolina News Today.”

Savannah was bitten by the “broadcasting bug” as a 16-year-old. At that time, she had earned an invitation to play in the Nature Valley First Tee Open in Pebble Beach, California. When she was not playing, Savannah spent hours in the Golf Channel’s production truck observing the broadcast of the tournament.

Savannah is scheduled to participate in a class trip this summer to study film in Ireland. She hopes to spend the rest of the summer in an internship.

Zuri Anderson
Zuri Anderson

Zuri Anderson
Winthrop University

Zuri Anderson is a sophomore at Winthrop University majoring in Mass Communications. She has earned a place on the President’s List or Dean’s List at the end of every semester she has attended at Winthrop.

Zuri’s practical experience includes a great deal of writing. She is a staff writer for the Winthrop student newspaper, the managing editor for Winthrop’s cultural publication, and the editor-in chief for an online Winthrop publication called The Odyssey.

The many hours Zuri has put into her work earned her the honor of “Best Writer” for the student newspaper during the Fall 2016 semester and “Most Dedicated” for the cultural newspaper for the Spring 2016 semester.

Between classes and her work on student publications, Zuri is a member of an organization called the “Winthrop Think College” that assists students with disabilities reach goals for self-improvement. Never missing an opportunity to write, she handles the weekly newsletter for this organization.

Zuri says she is using her college career to build experience for a professional career in online journalism.