Previous winners

2017 Winners

Mills Hayes
Theashionna Owens

2016 Winners

Abbey O’Brien
Jaclyn Lee

2015 Winners

Chuck Ringwalt
Meredith Stutz

Spring 2014:
Mackenzie Roberts
Tabitha Corley

Spring 2013:
Joe Bruno
Kyle Cline

Fall 2012:
Emily Palmer
Kalina Harrison

Fall 2011:
Lauren Brigman
Lisa Ellen Brown

Fall 2010:
Kathleen Brown
Drew Smith

Fall 2009:
Dannika Lewis
Jessica Lyn Silvaggio

Fall 2008:
Kevin Kline
Mason Snyder

Fall 2007:
Matthew McClellan
Adam Rhew

2008 winner

Kevin Kline
Pete Poore, left, presents Kevin Kline, with the Fall 2008 Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarship. Kline is a senior at Elon University.

Kevin Kline
Elon University

Kevin Kline, of Cary, N.C., is a senior Broadcast Communications major at Elon University, where he has been on the Dean’s List since his freshman year. His campus activities include Phoenix 14 News, a weekly college newscast. Kline has served in many capacities at Phoenix 14 News since 2005. Currently, he serves as the operation’s student news director.

Kline spent the summer of 2008 working for WEIU-TV in Charleston, Ill.. He wore many hats at WEIU, including producer, reporter, anchor and photographer. He spent the summer of 2007 working in the communications office at the North Carolina Department of Transportation.

Kline has been active in Elon’s student government, serving as the representative in the Student Senate from the School of Communications. Since 2006, he has been a member of Elon’s chapter of the Radio & Television News Directors Association. He is currently the chapter president. He has won several college news awards for his work, and he is a member of three leadership and honor societies at Elon.