Skip to content

2007 RTDNAC Scholarship Winners

Matthew McClellan & Adam Rhew

SC Scholarship Winner

Matthew McClellan, a communications major at the College of Charleston. McClellan has earned a place on both the Dean’s List and the President’s List for the past three years, with a nearly perfect grade point average.

The College of Charleston senior has spent time during his college career working as a host for the Cougar Radio Show, and for Cougar Television, both of which are campus productions. McClellan is a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and the Lambda Pi Eta Communication Honor Society. He is also a member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity and the Black Student Union.

McClellan has volunteered many hours of his time to Big Brothers/Big Sisters of America, the March of Dimes, the YMCA and voter registration drives among other activities.

The native of Lake View, South Carolina is a graduate of Lake View High School. During his high school days, McClellan was chosen from a nationwide group of applicants to spend a week in Los Angeles anchoring for Channel One News during its Student Produced Week.


NC Scholarship Winner

Adam Rhew, a senior in the School of Journalism & Mass Communication at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill is very active in broadcast news. The Charlotte native has reported and anchored “Carolina Week,” a twice-weekly TV news broadcast produced by UNC-Chapel Hill, and he’s also anchored “Carolina Connection,” a weekly radio news broadcast, also produced by UNC-Chapel-Hill.

Rhew also works as a reporter for WCHL in Chapel Hill, where he covers local government. His previous summer employment includes reporting & anchoring for WBT Radio in Charlotte, and he spent the summer of 2006 working for CBS Radio News in New York.

Rhew has won two other scholarships in 2007; the President’s Scholarship from the Radio-Television News Directors Foundation (RTNDF), and the Reese Felts Scholarship from the UNC-CH School of Journalism & Mass Communications.

His talents and reporting have earned him four awards, including two from the Society of Professional Journalists (Student Division), and one each from RTNDAC (Student Division) and the William Randolph Hearst Foundation.