Skip to content

2010 RTDNAC Scholarship Winners

Kathleen Brown & Drew Smith

SC Scholarship Winner

Kathleen Brown is from Laurens, S.C. She is a senior at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, majoring in broadcasting communications.

The Dean’s List student’s experience in broadcasting includes serving two years as a deejay and announcer for Winthrop Radio, working as a sports producer for “Winthrop Close Up,” a student-run news program, and an internship at WYFF-TV in Greenville, S.C. and working part-time as an associate producer in training at WCCB, FOX Charlotte.

Brown also won a scholarship from the South Carolina Broadcasters Association in 2010. She was named the Outstanding Broadcasting Communications Junior in Spring 2010. Her goal is to work professionally in the Carolinas after graduation.


NC Scholarship Winner

Drew Smith is from Walpole, Mass. He is a senior majoring in journalism–broadcast news at Elon University.

He has held the position of news director at Phoenix14News since January 2009 and has won multiple awards for producing and anchoring during his tenure at Phoenix14News. During the summers of 2008 and 2009, he served as the news editor at “The Pendulum,” Elon University’s student newspaper. Smith also held internships at NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams, WFMY News 2 in Greensboro, N.C. and New England Cable News based in Newton, Mass.

The senior journalism major is an Alexander M. Tanger Scholar awarded by the Broadcast Education Association, an Elon University Presidential Scholar and a Dr. Larry D’Angelo Scholar, also awarded by Elon University.