2024 Scholarship Winners Announced

The Radio Television Digital News Association of the Carolinas presented two Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarships at its annual student workshop on Feb. 10, 2024.

The 2024 recipients are Samantha Hoffman at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill, and Zane Heinlein at the University of South Carolina in Columbia SC.. (Learn more about the winners here)

Each year, RTDNAC awards a $2000 scholarship each to a North Carolina and a South Carolina college student majoring in a field connected to the news industry.

The RTDNAC Scholarships have been named for the late Dr. John R. Bittner, RTDNAC’s first executive manager and a member of the faculty at in the journalism school at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Funding for the scholarships has been provided by Capitol Broadcasting Company/WRAL, Hearst Television Inc./WYFF4 and the RTDNAC Board of Directors.